Thursday’s Special: Blooming water

I had never taken pictures of lily pads until this summer. Then all of a sudden a few opportunities presented themselves; first I found some nice water lilies in Italy on the shores of Lake Como; then there was a gigantic one in our botanical garden in Zagreb that unfortunately I could not photograph as it was enclosed in a greenhouse with insanely high tropical temperatures, and I had to make a choice between taking a pic and possibly fainting, or just leaving it be. I decided to pass on that photo opportunity as there were a couple of other geeks standing in the way between me and the lily, so in the end it was not that hard decision to make ๐Ÿ˜€ . After that I went for a tour of some of our local castles and there they were … two beautiful pink lilies floating in a pond next to Luลพnica manorย that reminded me of the ones I saw in Jeff’s pictures.ย 

 

lopoci

**About Thursdayโ€™s Special:ย It is a โ€˜non-challengeโ€™ challenge that appeals to bloggers eager to wake up their creativity and show their own ideas and interpretation of the world. I invite everybody interested to join in. There are no themes, titles and techniques set for your expression, there are no limits and restrictions (no red tape whatsoever). The only thing required is to post a photo post on Thursdays entitled โ€œThursdayโ€™s Special: (your theme/title)โ€ (as explained in myย Thursdayโ€™s Specialย introductory post), to provide a link to my Thursdayโ€™s Special post, and to leave a link to your post in the comments section of my post. If you like Thursdayโ€™s Special widget, feel free to grab it and post it on your blog.

jupiter-widget_text

Check out the great entries to Thursday’s Special:

66 thoughts on “Thursday’s Special: Blooming water

  1. Pingback: Uphill december blooming | Le Drake Noir

  2. Pingback: I am but a Lonely Soul | artishorseshit

  3. This is an amazing photo Paula. The flower is so beautiful. I have seen lilies as beautiful as these but that was before digital camera days – and zoom lens days on my little point and shoot. My capture was not as beautiful as yours.

    Like

  4. Pingback: A La Glorie for Thursday’s Special | The World Is a Book...

  5. Pingback: Power Nap! | The Urge To Wander

    • Marvelous ๐Ÿ™‚ You are very thoughtful Madhu to be sending me just what I need :D. Loving the capture, carcolepsy term and the idea :D. You have a good eye – you were the only one to notice that water surface ๐Ÿ˜‰ Many thanks!!!

      Like

  6. Pingback: Thursday’s Special | Dot knows! (elleturner4)

  7. Pingback: Great Blue Heron’s Jaw-Dropping Day with a Fisherman | Babsje Heron

  8. Nice! Aren’t we all have some sort of criteria for taking photos that we want to turn out decent. Certainly, those shot that don’t come by that often, we make sure we “get” that opportuned moment.
    Paula, just start pointing your camera to those who are in the way. That will eventually scare them away. ๐Ÿ˜€

    Like

Come on, say something nice

