Thursday’s Special: Breaking the Rules

When I came up with the theme for today’s challenge I was thinking about breaking photographic rules like the rule of thirds, taking unfocused photos, holding camera on an angle, experimenting with framing, or the rule that I most definitely broke – the rule of creating active space for moving subject to move into.

If you are photographing a subject that is moving you should place more empty space in front of it than behind it. This gives the viewer of the image a sense of where the subject is moving and creates a sense of anticipation.

While following this rule can produce some excellent results, breaking it can add a little tension and intrigue to your images. It can also convey a sense of speed and/or give the viewer a sense of where the subject has been rather than where they are headed.

 

 

diagonal swan

 

If you are not a photographic rule breaker, feel free to post your different take on the theme. I look forward to seeing your results. Happy Thursday!

jupiter-widget_text

 

 

Click on the links bellow to check out the entries:

 

Debbie broke the rules

Irene’s rules to be broken

Stave Church at Norwegian Folk Museum

Ese’s Rule Breaker πŸ™‚

Sonya’s breaking the rules

Β Klara’s take on BTR

Β Patricia’s rule breaker

Β Running Ostrich and Ngong Hills

Β Playing till MeltingΒ 

Β Breaking the rules by Anna

Β Outlaws

Β Only Footprints

74 thoughts on “Thursday’s Special: Breaking the Rules

  1. I’m singing along! πŸ™‚ Just relieved to hear from you, though I know you’re not well. Magical shot, as ever, Paula. Doubt I’ll take part this week. I don’t know the rules well enough to break them. Sending yo smiles πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ I can’t do much else.

    Like

  2. In this case breaking the rule, seems to give the benefits expected from following the rule. Having part of the wings outside the frame further enhances the feeling of urgency and subject leaving the scene.

    Like

  3. This is all new ground to me – but very fascinating, Paula. I’m like Jo, I don’t know the rules very well to begin with. But your photo is so dramatic, and you’ve explained it all so well, you have definitely given me food for thought if not for a post. A big hug.

    Like

  4. Pingback: I Broke the Rules! | Travel with Intent

  5. Pingback: Thursday’s Special: Breaking the Rules | Reflections and Nightmares- Irene A Waters (writer and memoirist)

  6. Pingback: The Stave Church @ Folkemuseet | Cardinal Guzman

  7. Even breaking the rules, the photo captures my attention, for sure. The colours, movement&almost like standing still at the same moment… And how could I not mention grace?! A lovely result after breaking the rules, Paula! I hope your week has been nice, and you can almost feel the weekend at the door. Hugs!
    Here’ s the path I decided to take this time: https://esengasvoice.wordpress.com/2015/03/19/thursdays-special-breaking-the-rules/

    Like

  8. I love the idea of breaking the rules, Paula. I remember making some photos with movements, whilst following Photo 101 last year, that were not delivering what was asked. I’ll take a look at them and see if it is worth posting it.
    Love the music and your photo.

    Like

  9. Pingback: Thursday’s Special: Breaking the Rules | Middleton Road

  10. I peaked yesterday at today’s topic (nista-nas-ne-smije-iznenaditi :-)) and picked a photo. Of someone breaking a rule. But, as it was in a way repetition of something I already posted, after reading your post today and your suggestion/interpretation of the topic, I decided to change. And here is what I came up with:
    http://lessywannagohome.blogspot.be/2015/03/thursdays-special-breaking-rules.html
    was your photo accidentally taken that way? ( the swan too fast maybe). I like it this way. very harmonious photo – even color coordinated.

    Like

  11. Pingback: Out in the Midday Sun: Running Ostrich and Ngong Hills | Tish Farrell

  12. Pingback: Breaking the Rules | lucile de godoy

  13. Pingback: Outlaws | Le Drake Noir

  14. Pingback: Only Footprints – DαΊ₯u ChΓ’n Địa Đàng | Nhα»―ng DΓ²ng ThΖ°Ζ‘ng Nhα»› - My Nostalgic Journey

  15. Go for it! Defy all of those so called rules! Robert Bateman has done it often with his paintings to remarkable success. Many time he has positioned birds and other animals near the edges of his pieces, and facing away from the viewer.

    Like

  16. Pingback: Multitude | lucile de godoy

Come on, say something nice

