Black & White Sunday: How to tell a story through B&W photography (response to guest challenge)

Taking part in challenges means stepping out of one’s comfort zone and trying something new. I have not thought about taking photos of people before being challenged by my guest photo challengers. Today I am trying to respond to Allan’s challenge: How to tell a story through B&W photography.

 

 
zagrljeni lisboa-1_potpis

Living off love

 

cafe_man-1_potpis

Living off coffee

 

zena u crnom_belem-1_potpis

Living off tourists

 

Please join us with your stories in photos and leave links and pingbacks to your posts. Happy Sunday!

 

mergeyes_widget

 

 

Don’t forget to click on the links bellow to see the entries to this challenge:

Taking a Break in the Born

What’s the story?

Swimming is so much fun!

After the wedding

Mother and child

I see no angels

Double exposure plus some street photography

Wherein the Beautiful GBH Sticks Her Landing

Auckland Streets

Late

Waiting

A story in B&W

The Seeker of Photos

65 thoughts on “Black & White Sunday: How to tell a story through B&W photography (response to guest challenge)

    • Paula is doing beautifully as a virtual newcomer to street photography.

      It can be nerve-racking to get withing 20 feet of complete strangers, aim a camera at them and start shooting. With the passion for it; however, and the willingness to take the risk one can create something beautiful and culturally important for their community.

      Like

  1. Pingback: black & white sunday: how to tell a story through b&w photography | A Meditative Journey with Saldage

  2. Paula — brilliant! If this is what stepping out of comfort zone can produce, you should really do it more often πŸ™‚ These images are worth all the effort. I love them all, but it is the first two that really stand out for me. In both the images, the subjects are at complete ease despite your presence as a photographer. It’s almost as though you weren’t there. And by making yourself ‘invisible’ you’ve allowed the viewer to establish a direct connect with the subjects. It is the viewer who is looking at them, interacting with them, not the photographer.
    I also love how you have composed these shots, especially the first one in which every single element is contributing to the image.

    PS: Sunday was well worth the wait! πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

  3. He’s pretty amazing, Allan, isn’t he, and you’ve made a great response, Paula! I like all three and your captions are excellent too. You have a wicked sense of humour πŸ™‚ Fascinating musical backdrop too. You scored well on this challenge! Have a happy Sunday πŸ™‚ Hope you are relaxing.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Pingback: Taking a Break in the Born | Travel with Intent

  5. Pingback: Black & White Sunday: How to Tell a Story Through B&W photography | WordsVisual

  6. Pingback: Paula’s B&W Sunday Photo Challenge (June 28) | Through My Eyes

  7. Love these shots! I’m currently more obsessed than usual with B&W photography, as some of my recent photography posts on my blog probably show.
    It’s just so brilliant at capturing atmosphere, character, and highlighting details that colour photography can miss.

    Like

  8. Pingback: Another Guest Challenge Awaits | Modes of Flight Blog

  9. Paula, I like all three of your photos. I guess one day I’ll have to muster the courage… But people are even paranoid about me photographing house fronts… Well, as for your pictures, I would not mind seeing more of the kind! Thanks for sharing.

    Like

    • πŸ™‚ Your appreciation means a lot to me. I may try it again sometime. I find it easier to do in a foreign place – like here in Lisbon, in a town bigger than my own. Locals at my home town would beat a c. out of me :D.

      Liked by 1 person

  10. Pingback: Telling Black and White Stories | lucile de godoy

  11. Pingback: Double exposures plus some street | Cardinal Guzman

  12. Pingback: Wherein the Beautiful Great Blue Heron Sticks Her Landing | Babsje Heron

  13. Hi Paula – the people photos are something very different from you, and they are very dynamic – plus your titles add a lot. Living off coffee, especially.

    The photo for my submission is a follow-up to my last monochrome entry – in that post, I alluded to the heron bursting into flight, and here she is mid- flight: https://babsjeheron.wordpress.com/2015/06/28/wherein-the-beautiful-great-blue-heron-sticks-her-landing/ Best, Babsje

    Like

  14. Pingback: Late | Beyond the Brush Photography

  15. Great captures, Paula. I’ve only fairly recently stepped into this realm and there are an inordinate number of shots of the backs of people πŸ™‚ but I’m loving it. I love the story telling ability of street photography and black and white is a great medium for it.

    Like

  16. Lovely portraits, Paula and I like your theme of “working” that ties them together. It’s a little past Sunday but I wanted to get in on this one and have included a photo from April that I’ve been wanting to try in B&W and a photo that I took yesterday just for this challenge. Thanks for pushing me to look for something new. πŸ™‚

    Like

  17. Pingback: Telling Stories Through Black and White Photography: Waiting For Food and Fun | Northwest Frame of Mind

  18. i have difficulty with street photography as I feel shy/guilty of taking them. Maybe this is just the challenge I need to overcome it. Thank you!

    Like

  19. Pingback: Black & White Sunday: How to Tell A Story Through B&W Photography | Daffodil Hill Photography

  20. Pingback: Black & White Sunday: How to tell a story through B&W photography | Lifetime Diary Project

  21. Outstanding photographs. That second shot is one of the ultimate bests I’ve seen! You should do something with it. A showing. Frame it. Enter it in a contest. Something. It’s really, really, really, really good!

    Like

Come on, say something nice

